Gumwood Tales. story two, the trouble with Swill


作者:John T. Winter


出版社:Strategic Book Publishing and Rights Co.

出版地:London, England





Gumwood Tales: The Trouble with Swill once again tells the sorry tale of the sly foxes led by Festus, who scheme with the ferrets to trap and force animals from the town of Muchadoo to work in their gold mine.
There are a lot of twists and turns in this continuing story, revealing lies, deceit, revenge, stealing, and other bad things that some animals do. But there are also nice things that friends do for each other. Sadly, friends can also be unkind, as young readers will discover in the latest Gumwood Tales, where all these things come into play.
Meet a brave pig, wombat, rabbit, platypus, possum, turkey, cat, and horse as they fight together to survive.
Says the author, “By the end of the story, you will know and love, or not like, the characters as much as I do; and in future stories you can look forward to even more wild yarns of the wonderful animals in the land of Gumwood in a hidden part of Australia.”

  • Preface(
  • Chapter 1 Pearls and Pigs andThings(p.7)
  • Chapter 2 Ferret Justice(p.14)
  • Chapter 3 A Fine, Fine Family ofFerrets(p.21)
  • Chapter 4 A Cat’s Utter Indignation(p.24)
  • Chapter 5 Mel Takes to the Sky(p.29)
  • Chapter 6 Face to Face withFerrets(p.33)
  • Chapter 7 Cats on a Mission ofMercy(p.38)
  • Chapter 8 Look into My Eyes(p.42)
  • Chapter 9 It’s Not Our Fault(p.49)
  • Chapter 10 Shut Up and Move It,Horse(p.54)
  • Chapter 11 The Unimportance of Being a Rabbit(p.56)
  • Chapter 12 A Wonky Ride to Rescue(p.59)
  • Chapter 13 Reflections(p.63)
  • Chapter 14 More Bad News(p.66)
  • Chapter 15 Right into Their Trap(p.69)
  • Chapter 16 Amazing Confrontation(p.75)
  • Chapter 17 Roll Out the Barrel(p.78)
  • Chapter 18 Deserter in the Ranks(p.83)
  • Chapter 19 Under the Blackberry Bush(p.85)
  • Chapter 20 The Forces Gather(p.89)
  • Chapter 21 A Glimmer of Hope(p.93)
  • Chapter 22 All Work No Play(p.98)
  • Chapter 23 Mel’s Daring Plan(p.101)
  • Chapter 24 News of the Very Worst Kind(p.106)
  • Chapter 25 Into Enemy Territory(p.108)
  • Chapter 26 Mel Tastes Freedom(p.112)
  • Chapter 27 The Great Escape(p.118)
  • Chapter 28 Feral Cat and Quoll(p.121)
  • Chapter 29 Friends and Traitors(p.124)
  • Chapter 30 Sprung by Ragear(p.127)
  • Chapter 31 Fight and Fear(p.129)
  • Chapter 32 Plan for the Swill(p.131)
  • Chapter 33 Attack! Attack!(p.134)
  • Chapter 34 The Forces Gather(p.137)
  • Chapter 35 Shock, Stalemate, andAttack(p.140)
  • Chapter 36 Out Wanting In and Surprise!(p.145)
  • Chapter 37 Friends among Enemies(p.149)
  • Chapter 38 A Big Messy Freedom(p.154)
  • Chapter 39 Going Home(p.158)
  • Chapter 40 The Big Clean-up(p.162)
  • Epilogue(p.167)
  • About the Author of Gumwood Tales : John Winter(p.viii)